2009 ACT Super League

first_imgFour teams will take to the fields in both the Men’s and the Women’s divisions as they aim to take out the 2009 ACT Super League title.The teams competing in 2009 are the Canberra City Bears, Tuggeranong Valley Vikings, UC Otters and Woden Eagles. The competition will run over four weeks, with a double header to be played in the final round on Sunday, 22 November 2009. Finals will be played on Thursday, 10 December 2009. The Men’s competition will commence at 6.50pm, with the Bears up against the Vikings, while the Otters will play the Eagles. The Women’s round one games will be played at 7.40pm, with the same team’s playing each other as in the Men’s division. The Eagles will be out to put back to back titles together in the Men’s Open division, after last year’s grand final win over the Vikings. The Eagles again have a team full of talent, and will remain favourites, with Matt Curran, Scott Naughton and Chris Rawlinson among their best players. The Vikings are also fielding a strong side, with the likes of Nick Keech, Liam Taylor and Dean Taylor, as well as up and coming players Nick Tankey, Rob McCarthy and Joe Powell.Canberra City and UC will also be competitive in the Men’s division, with the Canberra City side including the likes of Steve Callander and Tim Spence as well as Canberra Raiders players Josh Dugan and Josh McCrone. The Otters are seeing some of their hard work over the last few years pay off in developing their younger players. Chris Tarlinton and Dee Prendergast are two of the more experienced players on the team, and will help develop the team’s younger players including Ben Hughes, Steve Meikle, Josh Wilkinson and Matt Atkins. In the Women’s Open division, the Bears will be looking for consecutive premierships in 2009, after defeating the Eagles by one touchdown in last year’s decider. Lining up for the Canberra City team in 2009 include sisters Kelly and Danielle Goodwin, Ash Kara, Carly Hill and Courtney Hinchcliffe. The Eagles will once again have a strong side, including Kate Bradley, Gen Netting, Rohanna Price and Erin Taylor.The Tuggeranong Vikings are beginning to see the benefits of their strong junior program and with players like Amanda and Mel Ingram, Amelia Kent and Shannon Frazer as well as younger players including Bec Beath, Jacinta Williams and Silvia Gonzalez, the Vikings are expected to be the surprise packet of the competition. The UC Otters are back this year after their absence in 2008 and include the likes of Kath Finn, Angi Donaldson and Donna Fraser, along with up and coming talent including Sarah and Jess O’Rourke, Lauren Bersinic and Pip Langford. For more information, please visit the ACT Touch website:www.acttouch.com.aulast_img read more

Read More »